A Second Look at Advertising with AMS: Brand Building vs. Ad Sales

Nicholas C. Rossis

From the blog of Nicholas C. Rossis, author of science fiction, the Pearseus epic fantasy series and children's booksYou may remember how I considered my advertising with Amazon Marketing Services (AMS) a failure, in that I failed to sell more books. I’ve been thinking about it, and have reached the conclusion that I should expand on this.

You may remember that I had decided to continue using AMS to raise awareness of my epic fantasy series, Pearseus. To do this, I started selling the first book, Pearseus: Rise of the Prince, for 99c and advertised with AMS. I set the bid rather high this time, at $0.50, instead of the recommended 5c.

As a result, I’ve had a couple of hundred impressions daily. Since it takes over 1,000 for a single click, this means that I pay roughly 50c for every 1,000 people who see my book.

This is a terrible business model, if I’m looking to make any money out of my work. It will, however, raise awareness, and hopefully…

View original post 576 more words

2 thoughts on “A Second Look at Advertising with AMS: Brand Building vs. Ad Sales

Leave a Reply

