Nicky Hari, Artist & Singer

nicky-hari-avatar
Nicky Hari

When you admire and appreciate the art world from painters to musicians and singers to ballet dancers you take in language that is universal to mankind.

I am fortunate enough to meet such a young & lovely talented artist and singer, Nicky Hari. She is an inspiration for the Asian youth who too, inspire to sing dance or paint.

Nicky is from the booming city of Mumbai, India. Since the young age, Nicky has doodled in painting, sketching, and has personally enjoyed listening to Hindi singers on screen and off.

Immersed by her surroundings, Nicky desired to shift her interests into a vocation that she truly loves and rejoices in. Encouraged by her artistic mother, Nicky set out and was determined to earn an impressive degree in animation and as a visual effects (VFX) artist. On top of, continues to attend hard-core singing lessons in old-style Hindi songs & methods as wells as voice modifications in Hindi and in Korean languages. This led her to a remarkable journey of K-pop singing competitions that has compelled Nicky Hari to become one of Asian community’s idolized Hindi singers as well as abroad.

In this feature, I am confident, readers will take the time to listen to Nicky’s harmonic voice and naturally authentic tone that elevates one’s soul to dream, hope, and pursue their passions.

I would like to give a warm introduction to Nicky Hari a pictorial artist and soulful singer.

bird-in-watercolor
Bird in Watercolor

Tell us about yourself?

Thank you so much Hadel for giving me this great honor of being featured by you!

I’m twenty-three years old and I’m from Mumbai, India, the land of Bollywood and India’s City of Dreams. I knew in my heart that I was into all types of art forms so I earned a degree in animation and visual effects that led me to work on a few Bollywood films like Shamitabh, Chinese movie, Monk Comes Down the Mountain and Hollywood projects, including an episode of Game Of Thrones ( Season 5 episode 9 the Dance of Dragons), as a visual-effects artist.

At the age of nineteen, I also participated in Korean singing competitions. I loved singing on stage and discovered then that I didn’t get stage fright so I decided to seriously give professional singing a shot.

cupcake-in-watercolor
Cupcake in Watercolor

I joined a rigorous Indian classical singing class which involved voice modulation, correct pitching, Hindi pronunciation, and proper breathing techniques that really helped me widen my singing range.

Currently, I’m a professional singer who dabbles in visual effects, digital art, traditional art and a bit of creative writing on my blog.

You are a multi-talented individual, tell us about your artistic side?

I believe that life is too short so do everything you want to do.

Art is endless, it’s beautiful and what attracts me the most about art, that it is not definitive; art is freedom to me and I love it.

 

color-pencil-sketch-of-glamorous-lips
Glamorous Lips – Colored Pencil Sketch

There are some days when I feel like painting with watercolors and then there are some days when I want to do riyaaz (singing practice) for hours on end. Other days I feel like painting fan art via digital media on Photoshop, or I like to relax with just a pencil and a drawing book.

beyonce-fan-art-sketch
Rihanna Fan Art Pencil Sketch

Music inspires my artistic side; and I try my best to continue to practice both my artistic and musical side of my art forms.

Tell us about your extraordinary singing career?

Extraordinary is a big word, but I am extremely fortunate to have some of the opportunities come my way plus I’m constantly learning and working my way up.

I participated in the first ever all Indian & Korean singing contest, commonly known as K-pop (Korean pop), in 2012, I was a first prize winner which entailed a round-trip ticket to South Korea. It was my first time abroad and I had earned this myself; I felt ecstatic. Stage singing allows the performer to get an audience response instantaneously and that’s thrilling for me. 

Won the first prize (an LG Television) in the regional round of Korean singing contest.jpg
Won 1st Prize (LG Television) in the 2012 Regional Round K-pop Contest

I also participated in a K-pop singing contest, again, in 2015. I came in third, a bronze winner. I was judged by actual K-pop stars and it was an exhilarating experience.

Won the bronze prize at the finale...jpg
K-pop 2015 Bronze Winner, Third Place

Korean singing is a niche in India and it’s still growing little by little.

I also realized in India to be a professional singer, you must have a strong command of the Indian classical roots so in 2015, I began taking singing lessons in this art form and I hope to continue learning the rest of my life.

Who or what influences you in the world of art & music?

In the world of art, I am influenced by my mother who was an art teacher for grades 1 to 4 and presently, she tutors art for kids between the ages of 6 to 10 years old; my mother has been a constant supportive figure in my life and I owe a lot of my art skills to my mother.

Ariana Grande fan art sketch.jpg
Ariana Grande Fan Art Pencil Sketch

In addition to, I am influenced by hundreds of artists on Instagram and deviantART page sites. I know, I should’ve said Van Gogh or Leonardo Da Vinci, but what really strikes me about individual artists showcasing their artworks are their range of artistic styles. Each artist has their own unique techniques of drawing and painting that stands out from the rest and it genuinely makes me at awe with their art pieces.

Regarding music, I have been greatly influenced by evergreen Indian singers (singers and music from old Hindi movies) such as Asha Bhosle, Lata Mangeshkar and Kishore Kumar. They had perfect voice modulation, throw of voice and incredible voice acting, made me fall in love with old Hindi songs of the golden era.

I am also a huge fan of English music and pop singers. So another influence as far as singing is Beyonce, who I believe is the best performer I have ever seen in my life. I wish someday I may get to experience her talent live in concert. 

rihanna-fan-art-sketch
Beyonce Fan Art Pencil Sketch

Any of your recent artwork on display?

Radha Krishna acrylic painting.jpg
Radha Krishna Acrylic Painting

The world of social media has given self-taught artists like me a platform. On my art Instagram, @nicky_artworks, I have some of my pencil sketches and watercolor paintings on display. I also have acrylic paintings plus oil paintings of Hindu Gods Ganesha and Radha Krisha as well as some fan art of Angelina Jolie and Dwayne (The Rock) Johnson and others.

angelina-jolie-maleficent-fan-art-sketch
Angelina Jolie as Maleficent Fan Art Pencil Sketch
Dwayne Johnson fan art sketch.jpg
Dawyne (The Rock) Johnson Fan Art Pencil Sketch

Where have you performed as a singer thus far?

Apart from performing in Mumbai for regional levels and Siri Fort Auditorium in Delhi for the K-pop competition finale, I have done a few corporate shows singing in Korean.

Performing at Kpop contest finale in Delhi, India.jpg
Nicky Hari Performing at K-pop contest finale in Delhi, India (Picture credit: Vinita Sethuraman)

Recently, I sang a Hindi song at an auditorium, a tribute to late Indian singer Kishore Kumar on his birthday. Also, I was lucky enough to have the opportunity of performing for senior citizens on the occasion of Indian Independence Day, on 15th of August 2016.

Performing at Kishore Kumar tribute concert.jpg
Nicky Hari Performing at Kishore Kumar- Birthday Tribute Concert in 2016

Any good advice for your readers who has ambitions in art or music career?

I am not experienced enough to give advice, I’m still learning myself. However, the best tip that I have received from my teachers that I would like to pass on to the readers, CONSISTENCY and PRACTICE are key to success.

It’s definitely not easy, sometimes you will procrastinate; if you overcome those obstacles, if you consistently work hard, make connections and keep getting better at what you are doing then you will get opportunities and succeed. It’s all up to you!

Connect with Nicky Hari online at the following links:

Twitter

The Nicky Blog

Instagram

Art Instagram

Listen to Nicky’s Soulful singing on Youtube:

-In Hindi with English subtitles: Main Tenu Samjhawan Ki (Unplugged)

-On stage at a 2015 K-pop competition (in Korean): Contest India – Nikita Hariname

-Evergreen Hindi Song: Zara Haule Haule Chalo Cover

 

Written & edited by Hadel S. Ma’ayeh, ©Copyright 2016, All rights reserved.
Photos provided by Nicky Hari ©Copyright 2016, All rights reserved.

 

3 thoughts on “Nicky Hari, Artist & Singer

  1. I enjoyed reading this post. It was great to see the YouTube videos too! You are very talented, Nicky. It’s been fun watching you grow up over the past 8 years since we’ve known each other. I have the sketch you made of me framed and in my house. I always tell everyone who visits about you and I show it to them. I wish you all the best success in the world! Thank you for posting this Hadel. xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

